National Youth Executive




The National Youth Executive (NYE) is responsible for the day to day running of Labour Youth. Officers are elected to the NYE at Youth Conference, held every Autumn. The current National Youth Executive was elected for a one year term at Labour Youth National Conference in November in Louth.


National Chairperson chair

Kevin Donohue – Dublin Bay South
Kevin has overall responsibility for the development and management of Labour Youth. They speak on behalf of the organisation and its members.  They are the Labour Youth representative on the Labour Party Executive Board.
Vice-Chairperson – Womans & Trans Officer  womantrans

Chloe Manahan – Dublin Bay South
Chloe is responsible for recruiting women into the organisation. In addition, Chloe develops policy on issues relating primarily to women and represents the organisation externally with other women groups. Chloe can be contacted at:
National Secretary  natsec
Eimear Martin – Louth
Eimear is responsible for Labour Youth correspondence and the minutes of NYE and other Labour Youth meetings. They also responsible for fundraising and the keeping of proper accounts.

Eimear can be contacted at:

Campaigns Officer   13062027_805098749621421_5698215201047939051_n

Dion Tallant – Dun Laoghaire
Dion is responsible for the planning, organising and the execution of Labour Youth’s national and regional campaigns.

Dion can be contacted at:

Policy & Education Officer   jamesjoy

James Joy – Cork South Central
James is responsible for Labour Youth training, policy and development. They are the Director of all Labour Youth organised seminars, including the annual Tom Johnson Summer School.

James can be contacted at:

Communications Officer  comms
Robert O’Donnell – Tipperary
Robert is responsible for all Labour Youth publications, including the website, information leaflets, social media accounts and posters. Robert is also responsible for the general communication of Labour Youth’s Campaigns, Policy and Ideals.
International Officer   DM
Declan Meenagh – Dublin Central
Declan is the primary representative for Labour Youth to both the Young European Socialists (YES) Bureau and to the International Union of Socialist Youth (IUSY).

Declan can be contacted at:

Membership Development Officer  11209576_849921688428052_7726164884557955048_n

Saul Kenny  – Dublin Bay South
Saul has primary responsibility for the planning, organising and the execution of recruitment campaigns, for encouraging the retention of new members and for the training of Labour Youth activists.

Shane can be contacted at:


Youth Development Officer   CW
Caroline Winston – Labour Party Head Office
The Labour Party Youth & Development Officer is an non-voting member of the NYE. Caroline  is based in Labour Party Head Office and assists the development of Labour Youth nationally.

Caroline can be contacted at:

The NYE is assisted by a number of co-coordinators, elected by the first National Meeting following Youth Conference.
Trade Union Coordinator   
 Andrew O’Brien
Equality Coordinator 
Michael O’Connor  
Policy  Coordinator 
David Eaton
Communications Coordinator  
 Liam Haughey
 Leinster Coordinator 
Evin Ryan .
Munster Coordinator
 Robert Nesirky
Dublin Coordinator
Liam van der Spek
Cork/Kerry Coordinator
Brian O’Reilly




Former Labour Youth National Chairpersons

Grace Williams              2015-2016

Jack Eustace                  2014-2015

Ciarán Garrett                 2013-2014

Aideen Carberry              2012-2013

Conor Ryan                     2011-2012

Colm Lawless                  2010-2011

Rory Geraghty                 2009-2010

Gary Honer                      2008-2009

Enda Duffy                       2007-2008

Patrick Nulty                     2006-2007

Graham Ó Maonaigh       2005-2006

Donal Lyons                     2004-2005

Rebecca Moynihan          2002-2004

Áine Morris                       2001-2002

Alan Kelly                         1999-2001

Cian O’Callaghan            1999-2001

Mark Garrett                    1997-1999

David Leech                     1996-1997

Fearghal O’Boyle             1994-1996

Desmond Cullen              1993-1994

Edward Dawson               1991-1993

Paddy Glackin                  1989-1991

Vincent Byrne                  1988-1989

Michael Barry                  1985-1988

Ray McLoughlin               1983-1985

Michael Martin                 1980-1983

John Kelleher                   1979-1980